Stoke the Folk is back! And L-A is also back on Window of Opportunity


L-A in a Paris mood...

.

.

.

.

.

Hi! Happy New Year.

While some believe 2012 is a year of endings (ie Mayan calendar ending in December), I believe 2012 is a year for new beginnings. At least it is for me. Had some good and bad things happen during the Christmas break – a CBC music internship (good) and a complete hard drive/backup drive crash (bad). But I do have a chance to start over in many ways. So while my laptop hard drive is in the hands of a lab for six weeks, I start over with my radio portfolio at CKDJ, AIR Algonquin and CKCU – and maybe more stations in the near future.

I also had a lot of fun doing a special feature for Amanda Putz on CBC Radio 1 Bandwidth on December 23. So I plan to continue to do something special for Stoke the Folk at least every two weeks… or whenever folk releases come out.

I thoroughly enjoyed being back on CKCU’s Window of Opportunity on January 6th.  I hope to be on that show biweekly as I can.  I’m still going to share the show with co-host and husband Tony while I’m at Algonquin this semester.

Here is the January 6, 2012 Window of Opportunity playlist:

Kate & Hollis, “Window of Opportunity” (show theme) [c]  Host L-A Copple
Intro
Set One – 14:07
Brock Zeman, “End of the World” (Me Then You) [c] NR (Mud Records)
ID
L-A Copple, CD review Brock Zeman’s Me Then You
ID
Brock Zeman, “Push them Stones” (Me Then You) [c] NR (Mud Records)

Set Two – 8:32
Tim Readman and Jennie Bice, “Winter Song” (Out of the Green) (Indie) [c]
ID
L-A Copple cd review of Out of the Green

Set Three 6:57
Amanda Bon, “Let me see” (Juniper Weekends) [c] (Indie) NR
ID
Amanda Bon, “Lucy” (Juniper Weekends) [c] (Indie) NR

Set Four 11:38
Elliott Brood, “Northern Air” (Days into Years) NR (Paper Bag) [c] Coming to Black Sheep Inn Jan 26!!
ID
Al Tambay, “Waiting for Jesus” (unreleased as yet- will be on forthcoming album) [c]
ID
Lyle Dillabough, “Proud Canadians” (Retrospective) (Indie) [c]

Set Five 6:52
Brothers Chaffey, “Hard luck guy” (downloaded single) (Indie) [c]
ID
Annabelle Chvostek, “Hartland Quay” (Live from Folk Alley) (Indie) [c]

The Copples, “Window of Opportunity” [c]

14 tracks, 14 Canadian [c]

And here is the Stoke the Folk playlist for January 9, 2012.  This could change a wee bit.  Enjoy!

OK, Switch to CKDJ at Algonquin College:

Stoke the Folk, Monday January 9, 2012

Hosts: Matt Francis/L-A Copple

The Copples, “Stoke the Folk” (show theme) [c]

Set 1 L-A’s picks/cd review  13:48
Brock Zeman, “End of the World,” Me then You (Mud Records) [c] new release local.
ID
L-A Copple cd review Brock Zeman’s Me Then You [c]
ID
Brock Zeman, “Push them stones,” Me then You (Mud Records) [c] new release local.

Set 2  Matt’s picks 11:26

Neil Young (feat Peggy Young), “This Old Guitar” (Prairie Wind)   [c] 
ID Matt’s picks
Kate and Anna McGarrigle, “Talk to Me of Mendocino” (live version?) [c]
ID L-A for Rob
The Civil Wars, “I’ve Got this Friend” (Barton Hollow) (Sensibility records)  For Rob US

Set 3 14:32
Ian Tamblyn, “The Glider” (Ian Tamblyn )  [c] From Chelsea QC [c]
ID
The Decemberists, “Dear Avery” (The King is Dead)  US Capital Records
ID
Elliott Brood, “Northern Air” (Days into Years)  NR (Paper Bag) [c]  From Toronto – At the Black Sheep Jan 26

Set 4  9:43
The Laws, “I hear Texas Calling” (Live at the Camp St Café) (Indie) [c] from SW ON
ID
Dave Gunning, “Sound the Pibroch”  (A Tribute to John Allen Cameron) (West House Music) [c] from NS
ID
The Once, “By the Glow of the Kerosene Light” (Row upon Row of the People we know) (Borealis) [c] from NL

The Copples, “Stoke the Folk (instrumental version)” [c]

14 tracks, 12 Cancon, 86 per cent [c]

Here is the the Brock Zeman cd review.  Enjoy!!

L-A’s review of Brock Zeman’s cd Me Then You January 2012

Yours in folk,

Laurie-Ann Copple

Stoke the Folk Facebook fan page

About L-A Copple

I'm a Radio host, artist, traveller, blogger, speaker, church administrative worker, wife and social media assistant to prophetic revivalist Darren Canning. I love missions, the arts, media and Jesus Christ. I have a call to the nations and to encourage and deepen Christian faith. I live in Ottawa, Canada.
This entry was posted in Stoke the Folk, Window of Opportunity and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stoke the Folk is back! And L-A is also back on Window of Opportunity

  1. Wonderful article! I wish I had your insight on this topic and could write as well as you. I hope many people get the opportunity to enjoy this great content.

  2. Jackie, I’m sure you’re own writing will develop. Just keep at it! Write about what you know and love. It will grow from there. And if you like my blog (and would like to listen to me on the radio), tell your friends!
    Thanks!
    L-A

  3. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

Leave a Reply

